Kanifing Municipality 

Where: Fajara is a part of the Greater Banjul Area. In the past it was a separate village, but has lost its village boundaries and is now just a section of the large urban area called ‘Greater Banjul’ or ‘Kanifing Municipality’.  Fajara is the home to many banks, government departments and ministries, International NGOs, and foreign embassies.

What: WEC’s presence in the Fajara area is scattered over several sites. The main site is our headquarters, which is the location of our Field Leader’s office, Administrator, guest house, and maintenance workshop.

Who? Several people usually live at the headquarters. Typically the guest house manager and those new to the field live at the headquarters. The short-term workers who work in schools, the admin office or in some form of practical work live in the area.